Fearful Flyer? Here’s Help.


For many travelers, flying is stressful, even fearful, largely due to the uncertainty and unfamiliarity of the flight environment.

JetHead Live! presents a thorough discussion of those factors that will help ease a traveler’s mind. We talk with musician Art Hays, a professional who has traveled the world touring with Matchbox 20 and continues traveling on other gigs. But he, like many other uncomfortable flyers, has questions about flying–and we have the answers to put him at ease :

This podcast and all past JetHead Live! episodes are available free on iTunes. Just click on the iTunes logo below.

She was a military pilot in WWII. Hear Bee Haydu’s story in her own words.

April 4th on JetHeadLive!

6 Responses to “Fearful Flyer? Here’s Help.”

  1. theelectriccane Says:

    Reblogged this on Theelectriccane's Blog and commented:
    I’m one of those fearful fliers. I have no choice but to fly sometimes, yet I really dislike being on a plane. A few years ago, a plane I was on had a decompression. I was in a row, alone, and heard the pilot remind cabin crew to put their masks on. Even with a vision problem, I grabbed for my mask.

    When cabin crew brief me about life jackets and oxygen masks, I pay attention now. If you have a disability, don’t just sit and wait for help. Emergencies happen in a few seconds and flight attendents are busy. So know how to put on a mask, where your nearest exit is and be polite to flight crew. I know, some are ignorant and have no idea that you can read regular print even if you use a cane or open your dinner by yourself. However, it takes 2 seconds to bbrief them and if you’re polite, it will make their job more pleasant when you do need help.

  2. Sprocket Says:

    I am not a fearful flier at all. I used to do 150+ segments a year. However I was always a bit stressed when we would do a crabbed landing. I do remember one night returning to my home airport YUL and there were vicious winds. I swear we landed at a 45 degree angle. From my guess of a couple of hundred feet in altitude I was looking straight down the runway.

    Is a crab landing as dangerous as it would have seemed at the time?

    • A crab on approach is normal, because the aircraft wants to weathervane into the wind. A crab on landing is inexcusable–it side loads the landing gear. The crosswind limits of the jet are based on rudder authority to overcome the max allowable crosswind. If you land in a crab, you’ve either exceeded the crosswind limit or you don’t know how to use the rudder. Neither option is good–or competent.

      • Sprocket Says:

        The crab on landing with the pivot on the right landing gear through the 45 degrees before the rest of the gear made contact gave me serious cause for concern. This was with one of the derivative companies that run RJs with overworked and (in my opinion) underqualified pilots.

        To be honest, anything that I ever thought was out of order was done by a similar company. I also remember a time landing in IND from DTW being sat beside a 74x captain who was angry about the incredibly high rate of taxi speed we were being subjected to. The Colts were playing so I guess that was the reason. He said it was a very dangerous taxi speed though.

        The environment around the field in HYD and BOM are something else altogether. Forget bird strike, how about hut strike??

  3. Hey Chris, just FYI the podcasts on iTunes for the last few episodes (including this none) are just duplicates of the interview with the KLM captain. Are you able to upload the correct files so we can listen on iPod?

    • Seems to be working okay on iTunes. But you can also download the episode from the link on the page, save it, then bring it into your iTunes (click “file” in the upper left corner of your iTunes, then “add file to library”). Then you can listen to it on any Apple device.

Leave a Reply

