Crosswind Landing Video and Critique


Join 2 veteran airline captains critiquing crosswind landings on this remarkable video.

First, start the audio below and it will tell you when to start the video:

(iMac/iPhone users might need to download the audio separately.

Suggestion: let the YouTube video buffer for a minute or two before you start it so it won’t stop on you in the middle.

Next week:

JetHead Live talks with a pair of Air Traffic Controllers about all things pertaining to airspace use.

20 Responses to “Crosswind Landing Video and Critique”

  1. Wow, this is amazing! Respect to the pilots!

  2. Hi Chris. I can see the video, but cannot find a link to “non video audio” but I am on an ipad. Will try again on my imac. Amazing. Kathy

  3. Hi Chris: Thanks – I’m on the imac, I pushed down the volume on the video and lined up your podcast. Very worth the trouble – it is fascinating to watch and listen, love the lingo and technical details! Thanks again, Kathy

    • I’m glad you liked it and got it to work okay–just kind of an off-the-wall idea, putting the two together. The commentary is the same as what you’d hear on our side of the cockpit door during cruise flight, or down in Pilot Flight Operations–or over a beer in some far off city. Thanks for listening!

  4. Thanks Chris! A fun combo. A note… After the audio and and video are in que (and buffered as necessary) the viewer should MUTE the audio track of the YouTube video. I had to reset the head end a couple of times to achieve a fairly good synch, but once that was close, it worked well.
    We’ll note that this video has had significant play in recent months. Adding a Play-by-Play from two experienced pilots made it worth seeing again. Having lived near D’dorf a few years ago, I’d also note that the runway provides a unique (and safe) location from which to capture videos like this. I don’t think that D’dorf has any worse or better weather; just limited runway options and a busy schedule. Personally, I think a couple of the landings (and wing/engine dips at <20 feet) were over the line, but I don't drive jets! In weather like that, I would respect the captain's decision to divert. Thanks for the combo. -Craig

    • That’s a good point about letting the video buffer for a while first so it won’t stop as you watch–I’ll add that as a note.

      I agree, too, about some of the landings: I’m way more conservative and want everything stable and tracking correctly by 100 feet, not in the flare.

      • Thanks. That’s the kind of pilot I want driving my airplane: Not afraid, but very conservative. Others might say “Of course it can be done, but I have no need to prove it, especially with a fulll load of PAX.” Commercial Captains should remember their testosterone flying days, yet be beyond them. I would be comfortable riding on your airplane. (As an aside, please tell us more about your pending equipment upgrade. Will you have to sit on reserve and/or change base for a while, or have you waited long enough to avoid those schedule ‘faults?’ – Craig

    • As I mentioned in the commentary, I’m super-conservative. Partly from years on the MD80, which was a wrestling match in gusty winds–now back with the Boeing wing and hydraulically boosted ailerons, it’s a much easier task.

      The concept of audio plus video is leaving some of my iTunes subscribers ( http://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast//id496859195 ) a little rankled–many download and listen while driving–so the combo might be a one-shot deal.

  5. Hey Chris, this is Scott (OD) from ZFW. Thanks for posting the video! You ever have to fight any cross winds like that? I was catching up with your Pod Casts and see you are having couple of Air Traffic Controllers on next week and one of them is from the Traffic Management Unit. If you ever need to find out anymore information drop me a line, I spent five years here at ZFW in the Traffic Management Unit. I’m back working the BYP arrival fix now, give me a shout next time you fly through.

    Scott.

  6. Awesome! I watched this video about two weeks ago while having lunch behind my desk… was a great watch but even better with some professional commentary. I got the perfect sync, and thanks to you making clear you stopped the video at certain moments it didn’t go wrong!

    Great idea and getting even better! I wasn’t abled to completely listen the last podcast so I listened to the rest of it while on the train.

    Deserves a ‘Thank You’!

    Have a great week

    Bas

  7. Scare-Bus

    I love it.

  8. Hey there Capt Chris………!!
    What an Awesome Podcast…….here!!!
    and Hey there Captain Jeff Houser(sp right..hope)……..!!
    He’s a SAINT’S FAN…….SO A BONUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Ok……..Saint’s are the ‘DEFACTO HOME TEAM’……..remember where ya heard it………LOL

    Yes this vid……..is nothing but Amazing…..and Loving ya’ll take on this……………!!!!!!!!!!!!
    commentary on landing in the crab……..
    a lot of the comments left at bottom of video…….are very informative………..several pilots commenting as well……..

    Is it me or do Boeing aircraft sit lower on wheels to runway…….than the Airbus fleet???
    and wingtips, winglets, sharklets/ittie bittie “lets”….??

    ………thinking at least 5 or 6 jets with “Out” any winglets or such…………or did I see wrong……….???
    would winglets have helped more …..with these crosswind landings…..????
    Dash -8 no wingtips…….?
    one crazy looking aircraft…….

    anyway I really enjoyed this……..audio with the video…….!!!!!!!

    THANKS SO MUCH ……Capt Chris……Capt Jeff!!!!!!!!

    MissTWA….

    ps, I loved the “just point the aircraft at the runway…and land comment.”…….:)))))))

    • Well, you’re onto something here: because the 737 does sit low and because the stretched version, the 800, has a longer fuselage, Boeing boosted the approach speeds to artificially keep the nose down, and thus the tail up, at approach speed thus avoiding a tail strike.

      Also, good question about the winglets. Pilots who’ve flown the 737 without winglets (I’ve gotten my 1,000 hours on the winglet version) tell me the winglets make for more crosswind hassles, which make sense: they’re a 7′ tall rudder on each wingtip, wanting to weathervane into the wind. But, thankfully, the jet has plenty of rudder authority to counter that asymmetry.

      Very astute observations.

  9. so ‘winglets’……not a neccessary plus for landing…………. but save fuel/thus cost………………,I suppose…….??…….

    which is the bottom line…………even if landing while looking out your F/O window……….

    .”Rudder authority”…
    .translation …….
    “a ‘controlled fall’ Boss”……:)))))

    I’m ready for the “G” rating……..to take a flying(yes Pun)….leap…….
    bring on the Avaition Knowledge…..
    “Salty talk”…does not kill…………

    Don’t we all know the diff…..between tastelessness………….and tasteful……commentary…….look there are only so many holes in the sky(I love that…..!!)
    so here’s to a “hole in one”…….and more Podcasts…..

  10. Ed Gallagher Says:

    That was awesome. I have seen video of GA aircraft crabbing, but seeing the big jets doing it…. wow.
    The commentary and insight provided was top notch.

    I just discovered your site about a month ago and can’t get enough.
    Keep up the great work and thank you.

  11. Love the feedback on the crosswind landings, they give me fits in the Warrior..

    In response to the question that was asked on the audio about the Airbus sidestick, check out this video from an Airbus pilot in South America:

    You can see the pilots moving the stick throughout much of the video. I was surprised to see how much travel the stick has, I always imagined it being less.

    • yes, Chris, Steve……….I’ve seen this video several times…….and, not that I have a clue, but does seem to be a lot of ‘slack’….with the stick………??????…

      I just love the shadow……of the jet……….at the end………..kissing itself…..on the runway!!!………
      Have a Good One!

Leave a Reply

