Podcast: Flying for the Royal Dutch Air Force & KLM Airlines


From flying low-level formation in the Netherlands in a Royal Air Force NF-5 to the worldwide flying as a KLM Airlines Captain, Martin Leeuwis shares his flying experiences on this Jethead Live podcast.

Captain Martin Leeuwis

To download and/or save, click here.

To view Captain Leeuwis’s cartoon books, visit www.humor.aero

Next week: Astronaut Mike Mullane, one-on-one on JetHead Live!

17 Responses to “Podcast: Flying for the Royal Dutch Air Force & KLM Airlines”

  1. My only complaint about this one is that it was too short. Great conversation, Could have listen for hours.

    I absolutely agree with him about the short legs as opposed to the long ones. The fun is in the take off and landings on the commercial side of things. But, as he pointed out, the money is in the long haul biz. He sounded like he did it for the love of flying, which is what it’s all about it as far as I am concerned.

    Thanks for a great show.

    • Glad you enjoyed it. I’m hoping to talk Capt. Leeuwis into another interview. He’s very busy and was very gracious to set aside the time for this one.

      Stay tuned!

       Chris

      Sent from my iPhone, so please pardon the typos.

    • Thanks for tuning in! I’m going to get Capt. Leeuwis back for another hangar-fly chat somehow–we barely got started on the good stick-and-rudder stuff.

      You’ll like the podcast that will be out two weeks from today featuring Boeing Captain Mark Rubin, discussing the 707,727,737,757,767 and 777–all of which he’s typed in and in which he’s amassed over 21,000 pilot hours.

      I’m psyched for my interview with shuttle astronaut Mike Mullane tomorrow. Planning to have that podcast posted here next week if I can pull off the interview without becoming a blithering idiot in front of an aviator of his stature.

      Stay tuned–

       Chris

      Sent from my iPhone, so please pardon the typos.

  2. Chris………….!!!!

    Chris……do I have your attention………….maybe it’s just me………………..BUT………there’s NO “clear and present danger’….”CLICK” BUTTON……..TO LEAVE A COMMENT/COMPLAINT/WHATEVER……………MOST PEOPLE ARE NOT GOING TO HANG AROUD LONG ENOUGH……TO FIND IT…………….MAYBE I’M THE DUMBY………..CHECK OUT YOUR SITE………..AS IF YOU NEVER BEEN HERE……..ASK YOURSELF……………..WOULD YOU LEAVE A COMMENT…………….???
    THEN I WELCOME THE “GO TO HELL “GETJETS”………JUST GIVE IT A WHIRL………..CHRIS

  3. Tom Seagraves Says:

    Good stuff Captain! Loved it and can’t wait for the next one.

  4. SOMETIMES LESS IS MORE………….!!!!!

    AND I AIM TO PLEASE………..LET’S BE HONEST…………….SHALL WE………………….if you bothered to come back……..as some do…….make no mistake………..but was it an easy ride………….???

  5. Please perhaps…forgive……………this was easier………..than your “Average bear”……..leave a comment………so I made more of a big deal……….!!!!…..but the question remains……..and I just LOVE……..this PODCAST…………..SO MUCH TO LEARN…………….AND ISN’T THAT THE POINT…………..I THANK YOU …….CHRIS MANNO…………….

    • I hope so: just good flying stuff, shared among a close circle of friends–including 900+ subscribers.

       Chris

      Sent from my iPhone, so please pardon the typos.

  6. 900 +…..SAYS IT ALL…………!!!

    • It’s really not that much, but numbers aren’t what’s important anyway–what matters is that it’s good stuff, audio and text, shared among 9 or 90 or 900.

      The audio quality is improving: new software, better mic (thanks to the advice of Mike Tobin, Miss Giulia’s husband); I don’t care how many hear the podcast as long as it’s good quality.

      I will say the blog had over 40,000 visitors last week–somebody’s tuning in, and that’s good.

       Chris

      Sent from my iPhone, so please pardon the typos.

  7. Awesome! The audio sound’s great, thumbs up and good work Mike!

    I believe KLM has phased out her last 737 classic at the end of last year. I’ve spoken to a retired KLM captain a year ago, he did exactly the same as Mr. Leeuwis. Never flew the 747 for KLM but remained doing the ‘fun and intense’ stuff as he called it on the 737. True passion, not all for the money. Great!

    Learning a lot here & I like the Dutch accent haha, I’m probably the same 🙂 So much good stuff in this podcast, thanking you both! As an aspiring pilot not having a single flying hour this is so good!

    Great more and more people are tuning in, and there will be another part!

    Bas

    • As Captain Leeuwis mentioned in the interview, most of the KLM pilots are not from the military (the opposite of here in the U.S. where 75% of us are ex-military) and KLM actually has an “ab initio” training program in-house. All sounds like good opportunities for someone interested in a flying career in your country.

      • Hey Captain Chris,

        I pretty much know everything about flying schools here in The Netherlands, spending days searching for information and going to open days. Both modulair routes and integrated like the KLM Flight Academy.
        Students at the KLM Flight Academy used to get a guaranteed interview at KLM and then put on a waiting list if accepted. That however, has changed. You’re not to expect anything from KLM job wise, too bad really… The market here is awful, hundreds of Dutch pilots without a flying job…looking for anything that looks like a job…even Pay2Fly Schemes. One day I’ll dedicate a post to it on my blog but it’s almost worth a book…

        The podcasts are great, looking forward the next one already! (And this one’s bookmarked on my phone if I want to listen to it on the train one more time 😉 )

        Bas

      • The astronaut interview podcast is complete and the audio mixed. Look for it Wednesday.

        He is an inspiring guy, refused to take no for an answer when it came to his life plans, which landed him in fighters and on to 3 shuttle flights.

  8. Again….what an excellent idea………your “podcast”……..!! An added dimension….
    and can hear the ‘nuances’….of conversation……….get feel of your personality….and his………..2 Captains talking “shop”………
    I listened again….twice today…………each time…hearing something during the interview I missed the first time..
    Bonus!!!
    How lovely for ‘Captain’ Martin Leeuwis to open up…and share some of his experiences….I do hope he will come back for another interview…..just got started…
    Looking forward to future interviews…and especially shuttle astronaut Mike Mullane ….LOL…Chris….you could never be a
    ‘blithering idiot’ …
    Keep up this Podcast gig…………for all who Love Aviaiton……What a Treat!!!!
    and the cartoons……….are to die for…………
    Thanks bunches, Chris…
    misstwa

  9. Thank you so much, Captain Leeuwis! And thanks to you, Chris, for these podcasts.

    Gosh, time DOES fly quickly when listening to you guys…it seems like no time has passed and then it’s over. 😦

    Hopefully, Captain Leeuwis will come back soon.

    I gotta check out those cartoon books now. 🙂

    • Yes, the cartoon collections are really cool and Martin was gracious enough to include some of mine.

      As I told him, I was humbled to be included in a collection with some of the amazing cartoonists he put together.

      I’m glad you enjoy the “hangar flying” as we call it. I’m still learning the interview thing (it’s harder than I expected) but like the upcoming astronaut interview, it’s ultimately worthwhile.

Leave a Reply

