Podcast: What’s it like to be a Boeing-777 Captain?


Ever wonder what it would be like to be a Boeing 777 captain for a major airline?

Want to know how the 777 stacks up against the DC-10 and MD-11 from a guy who’s flown all three?

Here it is:

 To use your own player: click here to listen (or right click and “save” to download).

Don’t have an audio player?  Click here to listen on Pod-o-Matic!

(running time approximately 28 minutes)

Wednesday:

From flying low-level fighters in the Royal Dutch Air Force to the captain’s seat at KLM,

Captain Martin Leeuwis shares his flying stories on JetHead Live!

Also Coming Soon:

What’s it like to fly the space shuttle: my interview with 3 time shuttle astronaut Mike Mullane. Subscribe now!

15 Responses to “Podcast: What’s it like to be a Boeing-777 Captain?”

  1. Presumably, you’re working to get this podcast listed in the iTunes Store. Fortunately, iTunes recognizes the file as a podcast, and adds it to that list, rather than as any other music track, so that’s a good thing for starters. 🙂

  2. I think I might be missing something. How do I actually download this podcast? All I get when I click the link is a page where the audio is embedded. That isn’t useful for someone who wants to listen to it later and/or take it with them on a portable device.

  3. Nevermind, I eventually found the download link hidden at the bottom of the page:
    [audio src="http://clmanno.podomatic.com/enclosure/2012-01-03T13_06_59-08_00.mp3" /]

    • I see what you mean. I’ll put a note on the page to look for the download button.

      I do the same thing–download them, then listen on the drive in to work.

      Sorry for the confusion.

  4. Tom Seagraves Says:

    Love the photos, love the cartoons, love the blog, now there is one more thing to love…the podcast. Great interview with the 777 Captain. Many of your questions are ones I would have asked. Looking forward to hearing more.

  5. That could, and should have been much much better. Great subject that I was really looking forward to, however it was a big let down with the sound, your interviewee taking calls while being interviewed, and it didn’t seem like you were really prepared with the questions.

    Don’t get me wrong, I still enjoyed it, but it left me a bit flat. Looking forward to the next Podcast.

    • It will be better going forward–already found better recording software.

      Taking calls? I really am that laid back: I will let guests say or do anything. I really don’t want slick production values. It’s just flight folks hanging out, giving personal, insider views.

      Have some cool interviews in various stages of the process: an astronaut, corporate pilot, some flight attendants.

      Stay tuned.

       Chris

      Sent from my iPhone, so please pardon the typos.

  6. Lego Spaceman Says:

    I like the new podcast feature.

    As a Boeing engineer, it makes me smile to hear that you like our product so much. Also that the advances we are making are what the pilots want.

    • I could be the spokesmodel for Boeing jets, particularly the 737. They are awesome.

      Did you check out my 737 vs. MD80 post last month?

      • Lego Spaceman Says:

        Don’t get a big head or anything, but I read all the posts.

        Are you going to stick around long enough to get your hands on 737Max, or will you have made the jump to 777 by then?

      • I’m glad you read them.

        I’m aiming for the 777, maybe late this year, early next year.

         Chris

        Sent from my iPhone, so please pardon the typos.

  7. Awesome, great idea! Some good stuff to listen to when in the train or something!
    Great idea Captain Chris!

    Bas

  8. An astronaut? Who? When?

Leave a Reply

