The glamorous airline lifestyle.


It’s not just the glamor that makes this job great–it’s the little unexpected “extras.”
Even though we landed last night at 11pm and don’t leave till 3pm today, my crew and I are still at “the short layover hotel” in Raleigh-Durham. That means close to the airport but worse, limited food options.

In this case here at lovely Raleigh-Durham, that means The Wyndham.

Wyndham RDU: in the middle of nowhere.

And this is how I find my room

which is why I don’t have to set an alarm. There will be vacuuming no matter what I hang on my door

Hotel Housekeeping manual: "This sign means vaccum incessantly here at 6am."

Anyway, avoiding the $25 breakfast “scarf-till-you-barf” buffet, I made it till about 11:30am, then had to break down and resort to the dreaded hotel restaurant for a $14 sandwich.

You like plastic plants and elevator music? Of course you do.

Not to worry: with your 10% airline crew discount, this is only going to be a $14 sandwich, with tip.

Decent, huh? Turkey Reuben, fries. What could possibly go wrong now? Look close:

What’s a little fried hair, right? Kind of gives new meaning to their marketing slogan:

I just think maybe a brunette, or some auburn highlights, would be better with fries, don’t you think?

_____________________________________________________________________________________

9 Responses to “The glamorous airline lifestyle.”

  1. Genius. If only airline life was more glamorous…
    Though I guess that’s part of the fun, right?

  2. John Stanbery Says:

    Hair- That’s roughage….

  3. Dennis Magnusson Says:

    Got to you through @HeatherPoole on Twitter. I’m down the road in CLT from that Wyndham. Good stuff; loved the one an
    bout lavs and NO DEUCE. Look forward to more.

  4. Good points raised here, (well, what I could read of it). I am afflicted with color blindness (protanopia to be exact). I use Konqueror browser (no idea if that changes anything), and a great deal of this site is hard for me to read. I don’t wish to whinge, and I know it is my problem really, but it would be great if you could bear in mind us color challenged types when carrying out the next webpage design.

    • Sorry about the background–if you subscribe, I believe the whole column comes an an email on a light backdrop as in a regular sheet of paper. Thanks for reading and commenting!

  5. Too funny, have just applied for a job as a flight attendant, not what I was expecting!!!

Leave a Reply

